About UNAIDS News and Events The UN in China Information Centre
Document title search:
2013/11/15

Beijing, 11 November 2013 - Over 200 delegates representing the Chinese government, the United Nations, the Global Fund on HIV/AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, and other international development partners met this Monday in Beijing to discuss the future of international cooperation on HIV in China. The meeting was organised with the cooperation of China’s National Centre for AIDS/STD Prevention and Control, the UN and other international cooperation partners including the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the US CDC-GAP Programme, and others.
 
The meeting, which took place in Beijing’s Qianmen Jianguo Hotel, was opened by Dr. Ren Minghui, Director of the Division of International Cooperation, National Health and Family Planning Commission. In his opening address, Dr. Ren recognised the important contributions which international cooperation programmes have made to China’s response to HIV, both in terms of funding, but also in areas including information and experience sharing, capacity building, advocacy and technical support, among others. Dr. Ren noted that international cooperation on HIV is in a transition phase, but that China still faces important challenges in its response to HIV, and still needs support from international partners.
 
In recent years, China achieved remarkable progress in promoting timely uptake of new approaches, including for example methadone maintenance treatment, leading to stabilization or reduction in the number of new infections among populations such as people who inject drugs.
 
Dr. Hedia Belhadj, UNAIDS China Country Coordinator ai. outlined the contributions international cooperation programmes have brought to China. “Of course, it is the country that took the lead. International cooperation has brought funding to China, but more importantly, it has brought new approaches, new technologies and new ways of thinking,” said Dr. Belhadj.  She stressed that the shifting patterns of international cooperation with China on HIV will bring challenges, but also opportunities.
 
As well as continuing to provide strategic support to China’s domestic response, meeting participants highlighted that international cooperation programmes will play an important role in the future in supporting China to share its own best practices and experiences with other developing countries, promoting China’s engagement in global health cooperation efforts while strengthening its own national response.
 
Discussions and presentations continued through the day, and included updates from several Chinese provinces, which focussed on the strong contributions which international cooperation programmes have made to China’s response to HIV.
Powered by digibrother

关于我们 新闻事件 联合国在中国 信息中心
文件搜索:
2013/11/15

北京,2013年11月11日 – 星期一,200多位来自中国政府部门、联合国机构、全球基金和其他国际发展合作组织的代表齐聚北京,共同讨论中国艾滋病国际合作的未来。此次会议是由中国疾病预防控制中心性病艾滋病防治中心与联合国机构和比尔与梅琳达·盖茨基金会、美国疾控中心全球艾滋病项目等国际合作伙伴一起组织召开的。
 
会议在北京前门建国饭店举行,国家卫生与计划生育委员会国际合作司任明辉司长主持开幕式并致辞。任司长在开幕致辞中肯定了国际合作项目为中国艾滋病防治工作做出的重要贡献,不仅给予了大量的资金支持,而且在信息和经验交流、能力建设、倡导和技术支持等方面都为中国的艾滋病防治工作做出了贡献。任司长表示艾滋病国际合作正处于转型期,中国在艾滋病防治领域还面临着重要的挑战,仍然需要国际合作伙伴的支持。
 
近年来,中国显著加快了采用新方法的步伐,在稳定或减少新发感染人数方面处于领先,例如不断扩大美沙酮门诊,减少注射吸毒者中的新发感染等。
 
联合国艾滋病规划署驻华办事处临时代办贝海蒂博士强调了国际合作项目对中国艾滋病防治工作的贡献。“当然,中国政府领导着国家的艾滋病防治工作。国际合作为中国的艾滋病防治带来了经费支持,更为重要的是,带来了新方法、新技术和新思路,”贝海蒂博士说。她强调,国际合作与中国艾滋病防治的转型模式既面临着挑战,又带来了机遇。
 
参会者强调国际合作项目应该继续为中国的国内防治提供战略支持,而且中国在加强国内防治的同时,未来国际合作项目在支持中国与其他发展中国家分享最佳实践和经验、促进中国参与全球卫生合作等方面都将发挥重要的作用。
 
这样的讨论和交流将会持续一天,包括中国几个省份的最新情况报告,这些报告主要集中在国际合作项目为中国艾滋病防治所做出的杰出贡献。
Powered by digibrother