About UNAIDS News and Events The UN in China Information Centre
Document title search:
2017/1/23

 

GENEVA, 18 January 2017—UNAIDS has presented Professor Peng Liyuan, the First Lady of China, with the UNAIDS Award for Outstanding Achievement in recognition of her remarkable contribution to the global response to HIV. The award was presented to Professor Peng by the Executive Director of UNAIDS, Michel Sidibé, at a special ceremony held in her honour organized by UNAIDS and the World Health Organization (WHO) in Geneva, Switzerland.

A renowned soprano singer, Professor Peng has been working on HIV and tuberculosis for more than 10 years and has advocated for a stronger response to the two diseases at major international events, including at meetings of the Group of Twenty and the United Nations General Assembly.   

“This is a great honour and I am deeply humbled,” said Professor Peng on accepting the award. “A caring heart is our best weapon against AIDS—we can save lives if we take action. We must succeed and we will succeed.”

Professor Peng’s work to break down the barriers of stigma and discrimination is allowing more people to be reached with essential HIV services. Through her work with children and young people, in particular children orphaned by AIDS, she has enabled a broader understanding of how to support children living with HIV to live a healthy life with dignity and free from discrimination.

“Professor Peng has helped to open a national conversation around HIV in China that has spread empathy and compassion for people affected by HIV,” said Mr Sidibé. “She is a true champion for the most vulnerable, especially children affected by HIV, and has helped to create an environment for children to not just survive, but thrive.”

The work of Professor Peng and other prominent advocates has made an important contribution to the scale-up and improvement of services to prevent mother-to-child transmission of HIV around the world. These efforts have helped to more than halve the annual number of new HIV infections among children globally since 2010. 

Progress has also been made in ensuring that children living with HIV have access to treatment. In 2005, less than 10% of children living with HIV had access to antiretroviral medicines, but heightened awareness and improvements in diagnostics and treatment availability have ensured that around 50% (870 000) of the 1.8 million children living with HIV had access to the life-saving medicines in 2015.

However, to reach the target countries committed to in the 2016 Political Declaration on Ending AIDS, the number of children accessing antiretroviral therapy needs to increase significantly, to 1.6 million children by 2018. “The world has made significant gains, but there is still much more to do and we need people like Professor Peng to continue speaking out and leading the way towards ending AIDS and tuberculosis,” said Mr Sidibé.

In 2015, Professor Peng collaborated with the Organisation of African First Ladies against HIV/AIDS in Johannesburg, South Africa, speaking out on key issues critical to ending AIDS by 2030. In 2011, Professor Peng was designated as a Goodwill Ambassador for Tuberculosis and HIV/AIDS by WHO. Her ambassadorship was renewed for a further term by WHO during the special ceremony.

 

Powered by digibrother

关于我们 新闻事件 联合国在中国 信息中心
文件搜索:
2017/1/23

日内瓦,2017 1 18 联合国艾滋病规划署(UNAIDS)向中国第一夫人彭丽媛教授颁发了 UNAIDS 杰出成就奖,以表彰她在全球艾滋病应对方面所做出的巨大贡献。UNAIDS 执行主任 Michel Sidibé在瑞士日内瓦为彭丽媛教授举办的特别颁奖仪式上向彭教授颁发了该奖项。该仪式由 UNAIDS 与世界卫生组织(WHO)共同举办。

作为知名女高音歌唱家,彭教授 10 多年来一直致力于与艾滋病和结核病相关的工作,并在多个重大国际活动中呼吁社会各界加大对这两种疾病的关注力度,包括 G20 会议和联合国大会。

彭教授在接受奖项时表示,这是一个莫大的荣耀,我对此深感荣幸。爱心是我们对抗艾滋病的最有力武器,只要我们行动起来,我们就能挽救生命。我们必须成功,也必将取得成功。

彭教授在解决艾滋病污名和歧视问题方面所做的努力让更多的人获得了必要的艾滋病诊疗服务。她对儿童事务和青年人的关注,尤其是那些因艾滋病而成为孤儿的儿童,让更多的人了解了如何帮助儿童艾滋病毒携带者过上有尊严、没有歧视的健康生活。

Sidibé先生表示,彭教授帮助在中国发起了全国性的艾滋病对话,向艾滋病毒感染者传递了同情心和爱心。她为最脆弱的艾滋病患者尤其是儿童患者提供了坚定的支持。她帮助这些儿童打造了一个不仅能够生存而且还可以让其茁壮成长的环境。

彭教授和其他知名倡导者的努力为全球艾滋病母婴传播预防工作的扩大和改善做出了重要贡献。自 2010 年以来,这些举措使得每年儿童艾滋病毒感染者的新增数量减少了超过一半。

与此同时,人们在确保儿童艾滋病毒携带者获得治疗方面也取得了进展。2005 年,服用抗逆转录病毒药物的儿童艾滋病毒携带者的比例不到 10%。然而,随着认识的提高以及诊断和治疗可及性的改善,2015 年约有 50%87 万名)的儿童艾滋病毒携带者(共 180 万名)获得了挽救其生命的药物。

然而,要实现各国在 2016 年消除艾滋病政治宣言中所提出的目标,服用抗逆转录病毒药物的儿童艾滋病毒携带者的比例在 2018 年应大幅增至 80%,即达到 160 万名儿童。Sidibé先生表示,全世界在这一方面都获得了巨大的进展,但是要做的事情还有很多,而且我们需要像彭教授这样的人士继续在消除艾滋病和结核病方面发挥宣传和引领作用。

2015 年,彭教授在南非约翰内斯堡与非洲第一夫人抗击艾滋病联合会开展合作,围绕 2030 年终止艾滋病待解决的关键问题进行宣讲。2011 年,彭教授被世界卫生组织任命为结核病和艾滋病亲善大使。在特别颁奖仪式上,彭教授作为亲善大使的任期获世界卫生组织续期。

Powered by digibrother