About UNAIDS News and Events The UN in China Information Centre
Document title search:
2016/11/22

New UNAIDS report shows that people are particularly vulnerable to HIV at certain points in their lives and calls for a life-cycle approach to find solutions for everyone at every stage of life.

WINDHOEK/GENEVA, 21 November 2016—A new report by UNAIDS shows that countries are getting on the Fast-Track, with an additional one million people accessing treatment in just six months (January to June 2016). By June 2016, around 18.2 million [16.1 million–19.0 million] people had access to the life-saving medicines, including 910 000 children, double the number five years earlier. If these efforts are sustained and increased, the world will be on track to achieve the target of 30 million people on treatment by 2020.

Get on the Fast-Track: the life-cycle approach to HIV was launched today in Windhoek, Namibia, by the President of Namibia, Hage Geingob and the Executive Director of UNAIDS, Michel Sidibé. “Just under two years ago, 15 million people were accessing antiretroviral treatment—today more than 18 million are on treatment and new HIV infections among children continue to fall,” said President Geingob. “Now, we must ensure that the world stays on the Fast-Track to end the AIDS epidemic by 2030 in Namibia, in Africa and across the world.”

The report contains detailed data on the complexities of HIV and reveals that girls’ transition to womanhood is a very dangerous time, particularly in sub-Saharan Africa. “Young women are facing a triple threat,” said Mr Sidibé. “They are at high risk of HIV infection, have low rates of HIV testing, and have poor adherence to treatment. The world is failing young women and we urgently need to do more.”

HIV prevention is key to ending the AIDS epidemic among young women and the cycle of HIV infection needs to be broken. Recent data from South Africa shows that young women are acquiring HIV from adult men, while men acquire HIV much later in life after they transition into adulthood and continue the cycle of new infections.

The report also shows that the life-extending impact of treatment is working. In 2015, there were more people over the age of 50 living with HIV than ever before—5.8 million. The report highlights that if treatment targets are reached, that number is expected to soar to 8.5 million by 2020. Older people living with HIV, however, have up to five times the risk of chronic disease and a comprehensive strategy is needed to respond to increasing long-term health-care costs.

The report also warns of the risk of drug resistance and the need to reduce the costs of second-and third-line treatments. It also highlights the need for more synergies with tuberculosis (TB), human papillomavirus (HPV) and cervical cancer, and hepatitis C programmes in order to reduce the major causes of illness and death among people living with HIV. In 2015, 440 000 of  the 1.1 million people who died from an AIDS-related illness died from TB, including 40 000 children.

The progress we have made is remarkable, particularly around treatment, but it is also incredibly fragile,” said Mr Sidibé. “New threats are emerging and if we do not act now we risk resurgence and resistance. We have seen this with TB. We must not make the same mistakes again.”

Get on the Fast-Track: the life-cycle approach to HIV outlines that large numbers of people at higher-risk of HIV infection and people living in high-burden areas are being left without access to HIV services at critical points in their lives, opening the door to new HIV infections and increasing the risk of dying from AIDS-related illnesses. The report examines the gaps and approaches needed in HIV programming across the life cycle and offers tailored HIV prevention and treatment solutions for every stage of life.

"Ending AIDS is possible only if we join hands—by each doing what is within our scope, creatively and aggressively embracing the 90–90–90 targets," said Eunice Makena Henguva, Youth Economic Empowerment Project Officer for the Namibian Women's Health Network.

From birth

Globally, access to HIV medicines to prevent mother-to-child transmission of HIV has increased to 77% in 2015 (up from 50% in 2010). As a result, new HIV infections among children have declined by 51% since 2010.

The report highlights that of the 150 000 children who were newly infected with HIV in 2015, around half were infected through breastfeeding. It stresses that infection through breastfeeding can be avoided if mothers living with HIV are supported to continue taking antiretroviral medicines, allowing them to breastfeed safely and ensure that their children receive the important protective benefits of breastmilk.

Testing also remains a major issue. The report shows that only four of 21 priority countries in Africa provided HIV testing for more than half the babies exposed to HIV within their first weeks of life. It also shows that in Nigeria, which accounts for more than a quarter of all new HIV infections among children globally, only half of pregnant women living with HIV are tested for HIV.

Get on the Fast-Track: the life-cycle approach to HIV stresses that more efforts are needed to expand HIV testing for pregnant women, expand treatment for children and improve and expand early infant diagnosis by using new diagnostic tools and innovative methods, such as SMS reminders, to retain mothers living with HIV and their babies in care.

The report also encourages countries to adopt the targets of the Start Free, Stay Free, AIDS Free framework led by UNAIDS and the United States President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief to reduce the number of new HIV infections among children, adolescents and young women, and ensure lifelong access to antiretroviral therapy if they are living with HIV.

Through adolescence

The report shows that the ages between 15 and 24 years are an incredibly dangerous time for young women. In 2015, around 7500 young women became newly infected with HIV every week. Data from studies in six locations within eastern and southern Africa reveal that in southern Africa girls aged between 15 and 19 years accounted for 90% of all new HIV infections among 10–19-year-olds, and more than 74% in eastern Africa.

Globally, between 2010 and 2015, the number of new HIV infections among young women aged between 15 and 24 years was reduced by just 6%, from 420 000 to 390 000. To reach the target of less than 100 000 new HIV infections among adolescent girls and young women by 2020 will require a 74% reduction in the four years between 2016 and 2020.

Many children who were born with HIV and survived are now entering adulthood. Studies from 25 countries in 2015 show that 40% of young people aged between 15 and 19 years became infected through mother-to-child transmission of HIV. This transition is also magnifying another major challenge—high numbers of AIDS-related deaths among adolescents. Adolescents living with HIV have the highest rates of poor medication adherence and treatment failure.

A range of solutions are needed to respond to the specific needs of adolescents, including increased HIV prevention efforts, keeping girls and boys in school, increasing HIV testing and voluntary medical male circumcision, pre-exposure prophylaxis and immediate access to antiretroviral therapy.

Key populations

In 2014, an estimated 45% of all new HIV infections globally were among members of key populations and their sexual partners. The report warns that new HIV infections are continuing to rise among people who inject drugs (by 36% from 2010 to 2015) and among gay men and other men who have sex with men (by 12% from 2010 to 2015) and are not declining among sex workers or transgender people.

The report outlines the critical need to reach key populations with HIV prevention and treatment programmes that meet their specific needs throughout their lives; however, total funding levels are far below what is needed for HIV programmes to reach key populations, particularly funding from domestic sources.

Adulthood

In July 2016, in the HIV prevention gap report, UNAIDS warned that HIV prevention efforts are not working for adults and that new HIV infections among adults have failed to decline for at least five years. Get on the Fast-Track: the life-cycle approach to HIV cites concerns that western and central Africa is off-track in responding to HIV. The region accounts for 18% of people living with HIV, but a serious lack of access to treatment means that the region accounts for 30% of all AIDS-related deaths globally.

The report sheds new light on HIV infection and treatment among adult men, showing that men are much less likely to know their HIV status and access treatment than women. One study in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa, showed that just 26% of men were aware of their HIV status, only 5% were on treatment and that the viral load among men living with HIV was extremely high, making onward transmission of the virus much more likely.

Into later life

The report shows that antiretroviral therapy is allowing people living with HIV to live longer. In 2015, people more than 50 years old accounted for around 17% of the adult population (15 years and older) living with HIV. In high-income countries, 31% of people living with HIV were over the age of 50 years.

Get on the Fast-Track: the life-cycle approach also shows that around 100 000 people in low-and middle-income countries aged 50 years and over are estimated to newly acquire HIV every year, confirming the need to include older people in HIV prevention, as well as treatment, programming.

As people living with HIV grow older, they are also at risk of developing long-term side-effects from HIV treatment, developing drug resistance and requiring treatment of co-morbidities, such as TB and hepatitis C, which can also interact with antiretroviral therapy. Continued research and investment is needed to discover simpler, more tolerable treatments for HIV and co-morbidities and to discover an HIV vaccine and cure.

Finding solutions for everyone at every stage of life

The report concludes that investments must be made wisely across the life cycle, using a location–population approach to ensure that evidence-informed, high-impact programmes are available in the geographical areas and among the populations in greatest need.

It strongly urges countries to continue to Fast-Track HIV prevention, testing and treatment in order to end the AIDS epidemic as a public health threat by 2030 and ensure that future generations are free from HIV.

 

Global summary of the AIDS epidemic in 2015/*2016

Number of people

living with HIV

Total

36.7 million [34.0 million–39.8 million]

Adults

34.9 million [32.4 million–37.9 million]

Women

17.8 million [16.4 million–19.4 million]

Children (<15 years)

1.8 million [1.5 million–2.0 million]

Number of people

newly infected with

HIV

Total

2.1 million [1.8 million–2.4 million]

Adults

1.9 million [1.7 million–2.2 million]

Children (<15 years)

150 000 [110 000–190 000]

AIDS-related

deaths

Total

1.1 million [940 000–1.3 million]

Adults

1.0 million [840 000–1.2 million]

Children (<15 years)

110 000 [84 000–130 000]

Number of people

on HIV treatment

Total

*18.2 million [16.1 million–19.0 million] June 2016

[END]

The Report Get on the Fast-Track: the life-cycle approach to HIV can be downloaded from UNAIDS web site: http://www.unaids.org/en/resources/documents/2016/get-on-the-fast-track

Contact

UNAIDS Geneva | Sophie Barton-Knott | tel. +41 22 791 1697 | bartonknotts@unaids.org

UNAIDS Windhoek | Michael Hollingdale | tel. +41 79 500 2119 | hollingdalem@unaids.org

UNAIDS Windhoek | Natalie Ridgard | tel. +27 82 909 2637 | ridgardn@unaids.org

UNAIDS

The Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) leads and inspires the world to achieve its shared vision of zero new HIV infections, zero discrimination and zero AIDS-related deaths. UNAIDS unites the efforts of 11 UN organizations—UNHCR, UNICEF, WFP, UNDP, UNFPA, UNODC, UN Women, ILO, UNESCO, WHO and the World Bank—and works closely with global and national partners towards ending the AIDS epidemic by 2030 as part of the Sustainable Development Goals. Learn more at unaids.org and connect with us on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and You Tube.

Powered by digibrother

关于我们 新闻事件 联合国在中国 信息中心
文件搜索:
2016/11/22

联合国艾滋病规划署新发布的报告显示,人们生命中的某些阶段特别容易受到艾滋病病毒的影响。因此,联合国艾滋病规划署呼吁采取生命周期的方法来为每个人在生命的各个阶段找到解决方案。 

WINDHOEK /日内瓦,20161121联合国艾滋病规划署新发布的报告显示,20161月至6月短短6个月的时间内有100万艾滋病病毒感染者新()接受抗病毒治疗,表明各国正在进入“快速通道”。截至20166月,约有1820[1610-1900]人已使用挽救生命的抗病毒药物,其中包括910,000名儿童,相比五年前已经翻了一番。如果这些成就能够保持并增加,世界将能够实现到20203000万人接受治疗的目标。

纳米比亚总统哈格·盖因布尔和联合国艾滋病规划署执行主任米歇尔·西迪贝今天在纳米比亚温得和克发起了进入快速通道:应对艾滋病的生命周期方法报告。盖因布尔总统说:“在两年之前,有1500万人正在接受抗逆转录病毒治疗然而今天,超过1800万人正在接受治疗,且儿童中艾滋病新发感染者数目继续下降。现在,我们必须确保全球艾滋病应对保持在快速通道上,在2030年前终结在纳米比亚,非洲和世界各地的艾滋病流行。” 

此份报告包含关于艾滋病复杂性的详细数据,指出从女孩成年到女人的转变时期非常危险,特别是在撒哈拉以南的非洲地区。西迪贝先生说道:“年轻女性面临着三重威胁,她们的艾滋病感染风险高,艾滋病检测率低,治疗依从性差。年轻女性的危险处境需要我们立即采取行动。” 

艾滋病预防对终结年轻女性中的艾滋病流行而言至关重要,同时艾滋病感染与传播周期需要被打破。来自南非的最新数据表明,年轻女性从成年男子感染艾滋病病毒,而年轻男性的感染时间晚很多,他们在进入成年阶段后才感染艾滋病病毒,并继续这一感染循环。 

同时,报告还显示治疗对延长生命的效果是显著的。在2015年,50岁以上的艾滋病病毒感染者达到580万人这一历史新高。报告强调,如果达到治疗目标,这一数字预计将在2020年达到850万。然而,老年艾滋病病毒感染者相较普通老年人得慢性病的几率高达5倍。因此,我们需要一个全面的战略来应对日益增长的长期医疗费用。 

该报告还警示了耐药性的风险,以及需要降低二线和三线治疗的成本。报告同时强调需要与结核病(TB),人乳头状瘤病毒(HPV)和宫颈癌以及丙型肝炎项目进行协同,以减少引起艾滋病病毒感染者疾病和死亡原因。在2015年,110万死于艾滋病相关疾病的人中有44万人死于结核病,其中包括40 000名儿童。 

西迪贝先生说:“我们取得的成绩是显着的,尤其在治疗方面,但是这个成绩也极其脆弱。新的威胁正在出现,如果我们现在不采取行动,我们就会面临死灰复燃和耐药的风险。我们在结核病防治中已经看到这一局面,我们坚决不能再犯同样的错误。”

进入快速通道:应对艾滋病的生命周期方法显示,大量处于较高艾滋病感染风险的人群和生活在高负担地区的人群在其生命的关键阶段被落下,无法获得相应的艾滋病服务,使得新感染上艾滋病的计划变大,并增加了死于艾滋病相关疾病的风险。该报告审查了在整个生命周期中艾滋病项目需求以及存在的差距,并为每一个生命阶段提供适宜的艾滋病预防和治疗解决方案。 

米比亚妇女健康网络的青年经济赋权项目官员Eunice Makena Henguva说:“终结艾滋病是可能的,只要我们在力所能及的范围内共同参与,创造性地并积极地实践90-90-90目标。”

从出生 

在全球范围,得到艾滋病治疗药物预防母婴传播的比例从2010年的50%增加到2015年的77%。因此,儿童艾滋病新发感染数自2010年以来下降了51%。

报告强调,2015年新感染艾滋病病毒的15万名儿童中,约半数是通过母乳喂养感染的。报告指出,如果艾滋病阳性母亲持续服用抗逆转录病毒药物,一方面使母乳喂养安全,避免其引起的感染,另一方面确保孩子得到母乳的保护性益处。

检测依旧是一个主要问题。报告显示,在非洲21个重点国家中,只有4个国家为超过半数暴露于艾滋病病毒的婴儿在其生命的最初几周内提供艾滋病病毒检测。报告同时表明,尼日利亚儿童中新发艾滋病感染超过全球的四分之一,只有一半的阳性孕妇接受了艾滋病病毒检测。   

实现快速通道:应对艾滋病的生命周期方法强调,我们需要付出更多努力扩大对孕妇的艾滋病病毒检测,扩大对儿童的治疗,并通过使用新的诊断工具和创新方法来改善和扩大对婴儿的早期诊断。例如使用短信提醒,以保持艾滋病阳性母亲及其婴儿得到妥善照料。

报告同时鼓励各国采用由联合国艾滋病规划署领导的“起于零艾滋,保持零艾滋,艾滋零感染”的框架,以及美国总统艾滋病紧急救济计划,以减少在儿童、青少年和年轻女性中的艾滋病新发感染,并确保艾滋病病毒感染者获得终身抗逆转录病毒治疗。 

青少年阶段

报告显示15-24岁是年轻女性中非常危险的年龄阶段。2015年,大约每周有7500名年轻女性新感染上艾滋病。在东部和南部非洲六个地方进行的研究数据显示,在南部非洲,10-19岁的女孩中艾滋病新发感染的90%15-19岁女孩,东部非洲这一数据超过74%

全球来看,2010-2015年间,15-24岁年轻女性中艾滋病新发感染仅仅下降了6%,从42万下降到39万。实现2020年女童和青年女性中艾滋病新发感染人数少于10万的目标要求在2016-20204年中这一人群的新发感染人数下降74%

许多出生时感染艾滋病的儿童现在步入成年。2015年在25个国家中进行的研究显示,15-19岁的年期人中有40%是由于母婴传播感染艾滋病。这一转变也带来了另外一个主要的挑战---青少年中艾滋病相关死亡人数较高。青少年艾滋病感染者药物依从性差和治疗失败的比例最高。

需要制定一系列的解决方案来满足青少年的具体需求,包括加强艾滋病预防、确保女孩和男孩就学、提高艾滋病检测和男性自愿包皮环切术、暴露前预防和抗病毒即时治疗。

重点人群

2014年,大约45%的艾滋病新发感染发生在重点人群及其性伴中。报告显示注射吸毒者中的艾滋病新发感染在2010-2015年间增加了36%,男性同性恋和其他男男性行为人群中艾滋病新发感染在2010-2015年间增加了12%,性工作者和跨性别人群中的艾滋病新发感染也未下降。

报告强调迫切需要在艾滋病重点人群中开展满足他们在生命周期不同阶段特定需求的艾滋病预防和治疗项目;但是,在重点人群中开展艾滋病项目的经费远远不足,特别是国内投入经费。

成人期

20167月,艾滋病预防差距报告中,联合国艾滋病规划署警告,艾滋病预防工作在成年人中成效,,在至少过去5年中,成人中艾滋病新发感染没有下降。

实现快速通道:应对艾滋病的生命周期方法对西部和中部非洲偏离轨道的艾滋病防治情况表示忧虑。这一区域艾滋病感染人数占全球的18%,但由于严重缺少治疗,艾滋病相关死亡占全球的30%

报告对成年男性中艾滋病感染和治疗作出新的阐释,显示男性较女性而言,知晓艾滋病感染状况和获得治疗的可能性更低。在南非夸祖鲁纳塔尔(KwaZulu-Natal)的一项研究显示,只有26%的男性知晓他们的艾滋病感染状况,仅有5%的男性在接受治疗,男性艾滋病感染者的病毒载量极高,使得进一步传播的可能性大大增加。

到晚年

报告显示抗病毒治疗使艾滋病感染者的寿命得到延长。2015年,50岁以上的感染者占成年感染者的17%15岁及以上)。在高收入国家中,31%的感染者年龄在50岁以上。 

实现快速通道:应对艾滋病的生命周期方法也显示,低收入和中低收入国家中每年大约有10万名50岁及以上的人新感染上艾滋病,这一数据确认了需要将年龄较大的人群包括在艾滋病预防和治疗项目中。

随着艾滋病感染者年龄的增长,他们也面临着长期艾滋病治疗副作用、耐药和治疗并发症的风险,如:结核和乙肝,这些疾病也会与抗病毒治疗相互影响。需要持续的研究和投资,研发出更简单,药效更持久的艾滋病治疗和并发症治疗药物,发现艾滋病疫苗和治愈方法。

为每个人生阶段的每个人提供解决方案

报告总结,需要更为智慧地在整个生命周期中进行投入,运用地点-人群方法,确保在不同地域、需求最大的人群中开展以实证为基础的、高效的项目。

强烈建议各国继续实施艾滋病预防、检测和治疗的快速通道策略,以实现2030年终结艾滋病这一公共卫生威胁的目标,确保后世子孙免于艾滋病感染。

  2015/*2016年全球艾滋病疫情摘要

 

 

存活艾滋病感染者人数

总计

3670[3400-3980]

成年人

3490[3240-3790 ]

女性

1780[1640-1940]

儿童(<15岁)

180[150-200]

 

艾滋病新发感染人数

总计

210[180-240]

成年人

190[170-220]

儿童(<15岁)

15[11-19]

 

艾滋病相关死亡人数

总计

110[94-130]

成年人

100[84-120]

儿童(<15岁)

11[8.4-13]

接受艾滋病治疗的人数

总计

*1820[1610-1900]20166

结束

Powered by digibrother