About UNAIDS News and Events The UN in China Information Centre
Document title search:
2015/7/28

 

 

29 JULY 2016

The Executive Director of UNAIDS, Michel Sidibé, and the Director-General of the World Health Organization, Margaret Chan, held wide ranging discussions with Vice-Premier of China, Liu Yandong in Beijing on 28 July.

The discussions touched on global and domestic health issues including China’s own health care reform programme and moves towards universal access to healthcare through the uptake of its medical insurance system. Mrs Liu underlined China’s commitment to improving health outcomes and welcomed the strength of the country’s partnerships with both UNAIDS and the World Health Organization.

Mr Sidibé congratulated the Chinese authorities for significantly reducing the number of AIDS-related deaths in the country and for expanding HIV prevention programmes nationwide to stop children from becoming infected with HIV. Since 2014, Beijing has reported that no babies have been born with HIV. Mr Sidibé also mentioned China’s highly successful harm reduction programmes, which continue to reduce the number of new HIV infections among people who inject drugs.   

China’s contribution to the international AIDS response was also discussed, particularly the country’s support to some of the world’s most affected countries in Africa. The importance of building robust health systems and ensuring the local production of pharmaceuticals were both stressed as being key to the future response to the HIV epidemic in Africa.   

Earlier in the week, Mr Sidibé met with the Vice-Chairman of the China-Africa Business Council, Xu Zhiming and thanked him for the organization’s ongoing support to the Organisation of African First Ladies Against HIV/AIDS. During his five-day visit, Mr Sidibé also met with Li Bin, the Minister for National Health and Family Planning, and discussed scaling up HIV prevention efforts among men who have sex with men and other key populations.

QUOTES

“WE MUST TAKE THE BROADEST APPROACH TOWARDS HEALTH—BY INTEGRATING HEALTH WITHIN SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT. PEOPLE’S HEALTH IS CONNECTED WITH ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND THE WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION AND UNAIDS HAVE KEY ROLES TO PLAY.”

LIU YANDONG VICE PREMIER OF CHINA

“WHEN CHINA MAKES HEALTH, INTEGRATION AND INCLUSION A PRIORITY, WE CAN SEE THERE IS A GROWING MOMENTUM TO EXPAND OPPORTUNITIES FOR KNOWLEDGE SHARING AND CAPACITY BUILDING WITH PARTNERS IN AFRICA.”

MICHEL SIDIBÉ UNAIDS EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

“THE WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION AND UNAIDS ARE GOOD PARTNERS AND WILL CONTINUE TO SUPPORT CHINA’S EFFORTS FOR HEALTH AND ITS INTEGRATION ACROSS THE SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT AGENDA.”

MARGARET CHAN DIRECTOR-GENERAL, THE WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

 

Powered by digibrother

关于我们 新闻事件 联合国在中国 信息中心
文件搜索:
2015/7/28

 

2016729

 

728日,联合国艾滋病规划署执行主任米歇尔ž西迪贝、世界卫生组织总干事陈冯富珍,在北京与中国国务院副总理刘延东展开了深入的讨论。

讨论涉及到全球和中国的健康问题,包括中国的医疗卫生改革项目,以及努力通过医疗保险系统普及卫生保健运动。刘延东强调中国对提高健康产出的承诺,并对加强与联合国艾滋病规划署、世界卫生组织的合作伙伴关系表示欢迎。

西迪贝先生对中国当局显著减少了艾滋病相关死亡人数,并在全国范围内推广艾滋病预防项目以阻断母婴传播表示祝贺。自从2014年,北京市报告新生儿艾滋病感染为零。西迪贝先生还提到中国非常成功的危害降低项目,此类项目持续减少注射吸毒者中新发艾滋病病毒感染者的数量。

讨论还提及了中国对国际艾滋病防治工作所作的贡献,特别是中国对世界上受艾滋病影响最严重的一些非洲国家的支持。强调了构建强健的卫生系统和确保当地药品生产的重要性,以及其对未来响应非洲的艾滋病疫情所起到的关键作用。

早在本周,西迪贝先生已会见了中国 - 非洲商业理事会副主席徐智明,并感谢该组织对非洲第一夫人抗击艾滋病联合会一如既往的支持。在为期五天的访问期间,西迪贝先生还会见了中国国家卫生计生委主任李斌,与其讨论了扩大男男性性行为者等重点人群的艾滋病预防问题。

 

引言:

“我们必须采取最广泛的措施朝健康迈进——通过在社会和经济发展中整合健康资源。人民的健康与经济发展息息相关,世界卫生组织和联合国艾滋病规划署在促进人类健康中发挥了关键作用。”

——刘延东,中国国务院副总理

“当中国将健康融合与包容视作优先领域,我们可以看到越来越多可以扩展知识共享和能力建设的机遇,从而深化中非合作伙伴关系。”

——米歇尔ž西迪贝,联合国艾滋病规划署

“世界卫生组织和联合国艾滋病规划署是很好的伙伴,并将继续支持中国在实现可持续发展目标进程中为健康及整合工作所付出的努力。”

——陈冯富珍,世界卫生组织总干事

Powered by digibrother