About UNAIDS News and Events The UN in China Information Centre
Document title search:

UNAIDS defines civil society broadly to include AIDS service organizations, groups of people living with HIV, youth organizations, women’s organization, businesses, trade unions, professional and scientific associations, sports organizations, international NGOs, and a range of faith-based organizations.
 
The importance of creating partnerships with and securing input from the full spectrum of civil society, including people living with HIV, cannot be overstated. Civil society speaks with many voices and represents many different perspectives. The wide range of strategic and tactical expertise within civil society organizations makes them ideal partners in the process of preparing National Progress Reports.

Since AIDS emerged, people living with HIV have been a key driving force in the AIDS response and few of the advances made would have happened without the tremendous efforts, expertise and advocacy of people living with HIV and affected communities. With appropriate support, people living with HIV can and must take a central role in their own country, region, or locality in the direction and delivery of AIDS programmes. Their involvement gives personal power and immediacy to AIDS efforts, improves the relevance of programmes and inspires others into action.

No single agency or constituency can reach the national targets needed to achieve universal access by 2010 – it has to be a collective effort. UNAIDS, national governments and other partners, including all parts of civil society, must work together in these efforts.

Partnerships in China
UNAIDS recognizes that civil society plays a key role in the response to the AIDS epidemic in China and is supporting capacity building initiatives of existing civil society networks in China.

Specifically, UNAIDS promotes the participation of civil society in programme development and implementation in China, and supports the full engagement of civil society groups in national level decision-making bodies, such as the China Global Fund Country Coordinating Mechanism.

UNAIDS is working and supporting a wide range of organization of people living with HIV to built capacity, facilitate collaboration locally, regionally and internationally. Key strategies include support to building of networks, strengthening their capacity and through the networks assist in capacity building of the individual organizations at a local level.

Over the last couple of years, certain key processes have been initiated to advance civil society’s engagement and representation on national decision-making bodies and at region/international events. One important existing mechanism for civil society in China is the Global Fund CCM in China.

UNAIDS has ensured the inclusion and meaningful involvement of people living with HIV in key advocacy activities, facilitating their participation in meetings and conferences of local, national and international importance and assisting in the creation of a national network of organizations of people living with HIV.

Future Strategies
On a long term, the response to HIV will benefit from a national network/federation of civil society organisations, with clearly defined by-laws and structure that will be able to interact with other stakeholders in a coherent and strategic way both locally, regionally and internationally.

A crucial aspect of the work of the civil society is the need to build the capacity of organizations and networks including those of people living with HIV and ensuring that they continue to have financial resource to conduct their work.

To ensure the greater and meaningful involvement of people living with HIV in the AIDS response, UNAIDS will continue to work closely with key networks of people living with HIV.


 

Powered by digibrother

关于我们 新闻事件 联合国在中国 信息中心
文件搜索:

  联合国艾滋病规划署把提供艾滋病服务的组织、艾滋病感染者组织、青年人组织、妇女组织、企业商业联合会、专业和科学协会、体育组织、国际非政府组织和一系列以宗教为基础的组织通称为公民社会。

  与公民社会建立合作伙伴关系、并尽可能保证各类组织、尤其是艾滋病感染者组织的的参与,是不容忽视的。公民社会代表着不同观点和不同声音。公民社会组织中多样化的战略和实践使公民社会组织成为国家进展报告准备过程中的理想的合作伙伴。

  自从艾滋病出现以来,艾滋病感染者始终是应对艾滋病的重要推动力量;如果没有艾滋病感染者及其社群的不懈努力和倡导,艾滋病防治过程中很多进展都将无从谈起。在适当的支持下,艾滋病感染者能够、也必须在国家、区域或地方艾滋病项目的方向和实施上发挥核心作用。他们的参与使得艾滋病防治活动具备个人魅力和直观性,提高了项目的相关性,并且激发其他人采取行动。

  没有任何一个机构或地区能独自完成到2010年实现普遍可及的国家目标——这一目标的实现必须依靠共同的努力。联合国艾滋病规划署、政府部门、以及其他合作伙伴,包括公民社会的各个部分都必须紧密地团结起来、一致努力。

在华合作伙伴关系
  联合国艾滋病规划署认为公民社会在中国艾滋病防治中发挥着重要的作用,支持了中国公民社会网络的能力建设。

  联合国艾滋病规划署特别促进公民社会组织参与项目的开发和执行,并支持公民社会全面参与国家层面的决策机构,例如中国全球基金国家协调委员会。

  联合国艾滋病规划署致力于支持各类艾滋病感染者组织的能力建设,支持其在地方、区域和国际层面的协作。重要的策略包括支持建立网络、加强能力、通过网络协助地方各个组织的能力建设。

  过去的几年中,已经开始了一些关键性的程序加强公民社会组织在国家层面的决策机构中、国际和区域活动中的参与度和代表性,一个很重要的机制便是中国全球基金国家协调委员会。

  联合国艾滋病规划署保证了艾滋病感染者在重要倡导活动中的有效参与,推动他们参加地方、国家和国际重要会议,协助全国性艾滋病感染者组织网络的建立。

未来的策略
  长远看来,艾滋病防治将得益于公民社会组织在全国范围内具有协作模式的工作网络。这样的工作网络具有明确的章程和组织构架,可以与其他利益相关方在当地、区域和全球性的防治活动中进行更加持续和有策略的互动。

  公民社会工作的一个重要方面就是提升公民社会组织和工作网络、包括艾滋病感染者组织的能力。同时,保证他们能够持续得到经费支持、继续开展其工作。

  联合国艾滋病规划署将继续与艾滋病感染者网络和组织密切合作,确保感染者在艾滋病防治中更广泛、有效的参与。

Powered by digibrother